Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Me Before You

Me Before You - Jojo MoyesWill Traynor was a successful, wealthy man who enjoyed all aspects of his life until being paralyzed in an accident.

Two years later, 26-year-old Louisa Clark loses her job at a local café. Unambitious and with few qualifications, Louisa lives with her working-class family. She is constantly outshone by her younger, more intelligent sister, Treena, a single mother. Louisa, whose job helped support her family, goes to the Job Centre and is offered a unique employment opportunity: help care for a disabled man. Camilla Traynor hires Louisa as caretaker for her son Will, despite her lack of experience. She believes Louisa can brighten her son Will’s spirits.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. Under her care, he becomes more communicative and open-minded but she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Booklist (Patty Wetli): Me Before You

In The Last Letter from Your Lover (2011), Moyes presented a heavily plotted novel that spanned decades and featured parallel romances. Her newest work dials down the intricacy, and the result is a far more intimate novel. In Me Before You Moyes introduces us first to Will Traynor, a formerly high-flying, thrill-seeking executive now confined to a wheelchair as a quadriplegic.

Twentysomething Louisa “Lou” Clark has been hired as his caretaker, despite a total lack of experience. As the prickly Will and plainspoken Lou gradually warm to each other, she learns that the six-month length of her contract coincides with the amount of time Will has agreed, for his parents’ sake, to postpone his planned assisted suicide, a subject Moyes treats evenhandedly. Armed with this information, Lou sets about creating adventures for Will, hoping to give him a reason to live. Simultaneously, Will encourages Lou to expand the expectations of what her life could be. All signs point to romance and a happy ending for the pair, but Moyes has something more heartbreakingly truthful in mind: Sometimes love isn’t enough.

What readers had to say about Me Before You

Me Before You is a fantastic read! It really makes you think about life and quality of life. Thought-provoking and sad. Jojo’s writing style is delightful.

 

Me Before You truly kept my attention, endearing, heartbreaking, true love, happiness and heart brake in twined beyond separation. No other way to describe this type of oe Iove, love, love this love story!

 

Me Before You was enjoyable from the first chapter. Gives insight into the humanity and love of every human. Freedom and ability to choose our life is presented in a new light.



I got food poisoning today. I don't know when I'll use it.”
Steven Wright